Caramelized Garlic Tart (Plenty #2!)

Another glorious recipe from Plenty and #2 challenge that we took on (see #1 here). This is actually also the second time Dad and I made the garlic tart. The first time, I wasted no time before eating and didn’t get a picture. It’s seriously out of this world delicious. So cheesy (goat cheese and gouda!), creamy, garlicky (3 heads worth!), yummness that I can’t get enough of. I also really loved the technique of caramelizing the garlic, it was fun!

Image

While not the healthiest of meals (literally you are inhaling cheese with a side of garlic), our salad balanced it out! I was so ravished at this point, I couldn’t slow down to snap a pic. Arugula/spinach mix with goat cheese (because clearly there wasn’t enough in the tart), raspberries, candied pecans, and cranberries with lemon and olive oil. Yoni suggested a green salad with lemon anyway, so we went wild with the toppings. As my dad said, “this is like an $11 restaurant salad!”

I want to make it all the time, but it is slightly labor intensive and you do need all the ingredients. I’d say the the trickiest thing is actually the puff pastry! Check out the recipe here. Our oven is a little off, so after the 40 minutes, I put it for probably another 10, just get that golden brown beautifulness you see above. Let me know if you decide to try this or if you’ve tried any other of Yotam Ottolenghi’s recipes!

2 thoughts on “Caramelized Garlic Tart (Plenty #2!)

  1. I stumbled across your blog via MUT, but this post is the one that caught my attention… garlic anything wins my heart, and this looks delicious! Beautiful too. I’m going to have to try it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

