The ‘Plenty’ Challenge – Recipe #1

I rented the fabulous cook, Plenty, by Yotam Ottolenghi from my local library.
plenty-cover_custom-e9ffdc5141855ef949eb31491bb91490a1e3188b-s6-c30
Image via NPR

I’ve been salivating over it for a few months now and jumped at the chance to pick it up. My dad, the die-hard meat eater (sidebar, we once got in a screaming match at a Persian restaurant when I told my parents I was thinking of going vegetarian), was drawn in by the pictures and proposed a challenge: we were going to cook our way through the book!

The first dish we decided to try out is Yotam’s Roasted Parsnip and Sweet Potatoes with a  Caper Vinaigrette.
IMG_2169
A snapshot from the cookbook, can you see why we chose to do it??

It was full of delicious flavors, heads of garlic, onions, carrots (my addition), and herbs. It was also simple to make! Just get all the prep work done first & then in the oven it goes. I think we’re going to make it again for Thanksgiving, but add the tomatoes a bit earlier.
IMG_2172
The tomatoes just looked so purdy I had to take a snapshot!

IMG_2171
The lemon caper vinaigrette! There’s also a hint of maple syrup & dijon mustard in there, tasty and unexpected!

IMG_2173
The finished product, TO DIE FOR!!

I’d give this dish an A++++! I went back for seconds, and thirds, maybe even fourths. We had it with lamb chops, my dad’s recipe, and totally delicious. I can’t wait to try our next recipe! You can find the recipe here.

One thought on “The ‘Plenty’ Challenge – Recipe #1

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Garlic Tart (Plenty #2!) | Real Talk with Rachel

Leave a Reply

